Skip to content

Bertha von Suttner, thank you Ingrid

by on October 25, 2013

ReportSymposium_BerthaVonSuttner2

Thinking about Leaving, I remembered that I wanted to thank Ingrid Rollema for the role she played in my education about the Peace movement. In may 2013, via Marlies, Ingrid gave me a book printed on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Nobel Peace prize given to Bertha von Suttner. Hearing that I was interested in the women’s peace conference that had taken place in the Hague she got me one of the few copies left of the book. I finally realized that what I was working on was the International Congress of Women, not the Peace Conference of 1899, so not really the same, but through the report she sent me, I learnt about the Hague Peace Conference of 1899 and I got to read Bertha von Suttner’s Nobel lecture and be introduced to someone I did not know. In the Hague, Ingrid explained with lots of enthusiasm how great of a figure she was. I also learned about her monument for Bertha von Suttner. We are still in Nobel prize season, here is Bertha von Suttner’s nobel lecture ” The Evolution of Peace” from 1906 if you are interested.

ReportSymposium_BerthaVonSuttner1

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

